I wish Judaism was this cool…

Man. I'm quite content with my Judaism. I really am. But I am sorta jealous of how excited certain Hindus and Christians get at a potential manifestation of the divine. This modern-day Hanuman is the latest example. Apparently a guy in India has a quasi tail, is vegetarian, climbs trees and acts like a monkey. This earns him tons of followers. Cool, huh? Sorta reminds me of the hubub surrounding statues of Mary that weep blood. Judaism has no equivalent to this, which is really unfortunate. Is it any wonder that there are only thirteen million Jews in the world?

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “I wish Judaism was this cool…”

  1. Gautam Ghosh’s Personal Blog » How to become famous Says:

    […] Seth wishes Judaism was this cool : This modern-day Hanuman is the latest example. Apparently a guy in India has a quasi tail, is vegetarian, climbs trees and acts like a monkey. This earns him tons of followers. […]

  2. SFGary Says:

    As a former inhabitant of desiland I can tell you these things are common there. It probably gets more coverage overseas because of its oddity than it does back home. There’s other things that make Hinduism cool and acting like a monkey is not one of them.

    Having said that I have been toying with the idea of inventing my own religion based on Hindu mythology. If I generate some paying followers – seems like easy money 🙂 Way easier than getting a startup up and running

Leave a Reply

